Haunted Halloween Blog Tour 2012– Mark Tufo

Hi my name is Mark Tufo. I am the author of the Zombie Fallout series. My newest Zombie fallout 6: ‘Til Death Do Us Part, was just released on October 1st. I do hope you enjoy the story and thank you for allowing me to be a guest on your blog.

 

 

I really started to hunker down into my series and truly contemplate the bazillion things that could go wrong at any moment. Having no food, worse having no ammunition, worrying about my family and friends safety 24/7. Not having any power to play my Wii or refrigeration to keep my beer cold. Having to smell the dead all around…Have you ever stepped in dog crap and you’ve had the smell linger in your nostril for a couple of minutes?

 

It’s coming up on Halloween–arguably my favorite time of the year. Some folks have asked me, “what does it take to scare an author that writes about horror.” Surprisingly very little! Like a lot of folks that read the zombie genre, I often fantasize about what life and the world would be like if we were stuck in one of my scenarios. And I’ll be honest, hey, I fantasized about the day it would happen. Not that I’d be thrilled that millions upon millions would die, but rather I would be free from the mundane-ness of everyday life. No longer would I have to answer the question ‘what do you want for dinner?’ or ‘hey do you want to go to Walmart?’ (Boy! Would I! – that would be laced with sarcasm) No more mortgages to pay, cell phone minutes to use, rooms to paint, none of that crap. It would all be about survival 24/7, loading guns, making head shots, raiding stores, avoiding roving gangs of rednecks. Days afterward, imagine your house is under siege and a thousand dead folks are all huddled around your foundation. I’m sure that would make your military style meal taste delicious (back to the sarcasm). So you want to know what scares me? A mutating virus that reanimates the dead, a conspiracy that taints flu shots, a meteor from outer space that contains a hostile life form to humans that alters their DNA… I’m sure I missed about 47 other ways a zombie apocalypse could start but you get the idea.

As much fun as it is to write about zombies, I, for one, think that maybe the best place for them, is on pieces of paper or more likely as pixels of ink on an electronic reading device. I think zombies are cool as hell, but I’d rather watch them crawl, shuffle or run around in the movies– oh yeah because I can almost bet if the zomb-apoc starts, we’ll have the fast zombies and animals will be affected (infected?). Can you imagine zombie rats? How’s that sound for fun? Got enough rounds to deal with that problem?

No, when Halloween comes, I’m going to drink a nice cold beer watching Trick R Treat (yearly custom) and eat all the candy that’s left over from the little neighborhood kids. Then I’m going to go upstairs place my head on my pillow and think up new ways Michael Talbot can deal with zombies whilst I slumber off to sleep-town. It kind of sucks when you realize you might be past your prime for a good old-fashioned apocalypse.

*   *   *   *   *

All five of us – Tonia Brown, James N Cook, John O’ Brien, Armand Rosamilia and Mark Tufo – hope you have been following along on the Haunted Halloween Blog Tour 2012. We love to see comments after the posts, and we also love to pick a random commenter and give away a free eBook or even a signed print book, so maybe you’ll get lucky!

We have centralized all the upcoming dates and blog posts on a Facebook event page. Feel free to join us there and see what is coming up next!

https://www.facebook.com/events/211796112284317/

 

2 thoughts on “Haunted Halloween Blog Tour 2012– Mark Tufo

Leave a Reply

